Monday, November 17, 2008

he said sara, but i think it may be you...

I convinced sarah to come scuba diving with me, sarah and sara is getting very confusing. As sarah got a quick scuba lesson i fried my self on the beach and talked to some canadian guy who is traveling for a year, said he only thinks he will need 20,000 dollars, so if i dont come back i will be doing the same. Then the adventure began. the divemasters who were also from canada speaking french now really confusing me with the languages (canadians all move to puerto viejo i decided) loaded everything onto a small blowup boat with a motor which i thought was going to take us to a larger boat...nope that was our boat, and it was the roughest day in the ocean they have seen in 9 months. so off we went sitting on the side of a river rafting type boat with a motor. the ocean was not that perfect calm caribean i always imagined, but it made it fun and i almost flew off a few times.

We arived at the first dive ¨the garden ¨ and in we go into the 84 degree water, a little nervous since it was my first dive away from home. 20minutes at 20 feet and it was awesome, scott the dive guy was very imppressed i did not kick the reef at all. then onto the next place ¨the wall¨ 30minutes at 60 feet. had some trouble going down with my ears but i pretended to be patient and not freak out and i made it down. there were tons of bright colored fish, jellys, crabs, coral and 3-4 foot long puffer fish. no sharks:) at least that i saw. i learned very quickly while swiming thru a coral cave that if you touch the coral it cuts and hurts, dont worry i saved my life by holding pressure to my finger under water ans stopped the bleeding...that actually kinda looked neat under water. i then entertained myself by blowing air rings in the water. it was a good trip and cant wait to possibly go again in 2 weeks on the pacific side.

I had the best pumpkin icecream which i think will be the closest i get to thanksgiving this year....so who wants to have a late thanksigving with me in december or january? please?

then the vaction ended. sarah, monica, jennifer y yo packed up the car and started our 3 hour drive to turrialba where i will be staying for 2 weeks. lets talk about the driving here some more, or the people riding bikes and walking. just walk into traffic without looking, you are invincible and a car will just jump over you. people are crazy here, people just stop on the side of the road...or sit on the side of the road, or walk right down the center...why? i dont know. but we made it with out killing anyone or any dog.

we arive to turriable expecting a town like la fortuna but a little larger and feel we will be able to find where each of us are staying.....no the directions to my house was detras de la estadio # 9 and monica and jenny were #8. ok i need to find the stadium, should not be that hard. and sarahs was by some bar. so we find the bar and then go to look for the house number but houses do not have numbers. ok then we try to find the stadium and end up at a gas station after asking for directions one time. the guy at the gas station thinks we are looking for someother town and we could not understand anything...btw gas here was $70 for half tank, so stop complaining. we drive around and i go ask someone else, she understands me and i understand her and we find the stadium. now we have to find behind the stdaium, that could be 4 ways. i get excited and see a #7 on a house and ring the door bell and the lady looks at me like i am crazy, ok i went to the wrong number but it was also the wrong side of the stadium, she tells me where ¨detras¨ is and we drive down the street and there are no numbers on the houses, so logically we decided we can count 8 and 9 houses in. as we drive back around some ladys are waving at us by the 3rd house. finally we found someone who does not think we are all crazy and i find where i will be staying. costa rice definetely needs some adresses.

i am staying with odilie and she is really nice and she understands my spanish and i understand her most of the time, other times i just nod and smile. it is different this time because she does not understand any english at all like the last place i stayed.

then off to bed i went by 9pm, talking in spanish is tiring and i need a lot more sleep. I got an awesome wetsuit tan line today, and my first tan for months and it only took a few hours.

No comments: