woke up at 3am this morning and got up even though i had almost 2 more hours, but without an alarm i have to get up when i can. had gallo pinto on the plane, last time for a lond time. now am hanging out in mexico. in the past 6 hours i read a book and wondered up and down the small mexico airport...been offered tequilla in every store, told a few people i was only 17...and now i have given in to the technology, the first time in 6 weeks i have used a fast computer. 2 more hours to go and i fly to lax just to wait some more. could have changed my flight more direct but it would have cost 300$ extra to lax then whatever flights are to SD...
i tried to download pictures here but froze the computer so that will just have to wait. i got my phone back to the main screen so i can turn it on a make calls but i dont know how to make them, just get them from here. please keep me away from technology, maybe i belong in mexico. checked my messages....25 from recruiters, 1 from jovanna...thanks guys.
i will be home soon! back at work in less the 24 hours. so excited
Tuesday, December 9, 2008
Monday, December 8, 2008
goodbye CR...maybe?
4 hours of travel and i am back in san jose in the guest house bored, not tired and very hungry. dont want to go out and get food because 6 weeks ago when i was here with sarah one of the locks got stuck and did not open for us..there is no one in the house now that could open it for me...thaks to sarah i have peanut butter. another problem, my phone which is my alarm no functiona...and i need to get up at 4am...that is before it gets light so we will see what happens....i have clean laundry! i cant wait to sleep in an american bed, dont care which one, really want some sushi right now, maybe some trash tv that i can understand, need a pedicure way bad and cant wait to not have muddy feet 23.75 hours a day. yay american stuff soon again
Sunday, December 7, 2008
rafting and sharks
guaro night was fun, after went to gansta night..or that is what they tried to have. the next day of school was rough cause i stayed out way too late.
watched accidental husband again the other day because it was not very nice outside and we dont have tvs so there was nothing else to do then watched sideways with andrew and took bendaryl so i can sleep and dont remember even watching the movie.
i skipped my last day of school on friday and went rafting again with andrew and billy. andrew was a guide on the american and met somepoeple here he knew who have a rafting company and now is gonna guide. i dont know the river name but i liked it better than the pehibya (spelled way wrong)
all my clothes are spotted with mud because the roads are full of pot holes and mud from when it rained alot last week
i went scuba diving to cano island yesterday. cano is supposed to be the #2 spot in costa rica. we took a 1.5 hour boat ride to the island. it was a lot of fun, i swam with sharks and was stung by jellyfish too small to see. i was going to go again today and get my next certification but i need a day to sit on the beach and maybe get a tan, or probably a burn, because i have not done that yet here.
i think i could live here for a few more months but i would need to come home and get some more of my stuff and i am going to isreal in jan so i have to come home. almost thought i was going to have to stay because i only had 5000 colones (about10$) and could not get anymore money unless i used credit at stores, so there was no way to take cabs back. but i found a bar that gives money, bummer. everyone i have met in costa rica is from cali, canada, vermont and sweeded...they are my favorite people
watched accidental husband again the other day because it was not very nice outside and we dont have tvs so there was nothing else to do then watched sideways with andrew and took bendaryl so i can sleep and dont remember even watching the movie.
i skipped my last day of school on friday and went rafting again with andrew and billy. andrew was a guide on the american and met somepoeple here he knew who have a rafting company and now is gonna guide. i dont know the river name but i liked it better than the pehibya (spelled way wrong)
all my clothes are spotted with mud because the roads are full of pot holes and mud from when it rained alot last week
i went scuba diving to cano island yesterday. cano is supposed to be the #2 spot in costa rica. we took a 1.5 hour boat ride to the island. it was a lot of fun, i swam with sharks and was stung by jellyfish too small to see. i was going to go again today and get my next certification but i need a day to sit on the beach and maybe get a tan, or probably a burn, because i have not done that yet here.
i think i could live here for a few more months but i would need to come home and get some more of my stuff and i am going to isreal in jan so i have to come home. almost thought i was going to have to stay because i only had 5000 colones (about10$) and could not get anymore money unless i used credit at stores, so there was no way to take cabs back. but i found a bar that gives money, bummer. everyone i have met in costa rica is from cali, canada, vermont and sweeded...they are my favorite people
Tuesday, December 2, 2008
yo que sea que yo quiero
-dominical wheather is hot and humid and the bugs sure like me, what is new?
-afer class drank a 40 of imperial with andrew on the beach and watched the most awesome sunset, but did not have my camara
-was told not to drink the water here at the beach but I have been with no bad results and will continue to cross my fingers
-only guys in the program here in dominical and me, from germany, england and cali
-read cosmo in spanish at the beach today, well looked at pictures
-learned how to merengue and salsa last night with my class
-went to a butterfly garden today, this is something that only needs to be done once in life and now i have done it twice. the highlight was the monkeys in the trees on the side of the road on the way home.
-watched in iguana fall from a tree while in class today, and one walk across the street while walking home, the poor things fall a lot and they sure make a loud thump
-this school has a cook that makes us breakfast before school and snacks on our breaks and will do our laundry, how am i going to function when i come home.
-ate peanut butter and crackers for dinner
-welcome drink tonight with what i am told is 2 bottles of guaro..should be interesting
-cant add pictures bc computers are too slow and i have no patients for them
-afer class drank a 40 of imperial with andrew on the beach and watched the most awesome sunset, but did not have my camara
-was told not to drink the water here at the beach but I have been with no bad results and will continue to cross my fingers
-only guys in the program here in dominical and me, from germany, england and cali
-read cosmo in spanish at the beach today, well looked at pictures
-learned how to merengue and salsa last night with my class
-went to a butterfly garden today, this is something that only needs to be done once in life and now i have done it twice. the highlight was the monkeys in the trees on the side of the road on the way home.
-watched in iguana fall from a tree while in class today, and one walk across the street while walking home, the poor things fall a lot and they sure make a loud thump
-this school has a cook that makes us breakfast before school and snacks on our breaks and will do our laundry, how am i going to function when i come home.
-ate peanut butter and crackers for dinner
-welcome drink tonight with what i am told is 2 bottles of guaro..should be interesting
-cant add pictures bc computers are too slow and i have no patients for them
Sunday, November 30, 2008
hello dominical
woke up this am at 4 since i went to bed at 830pm last night. for $15 i got a stay in the school guest house, a HOT shower, laudry with a DRYER, tv, internet and breakfast. at 10 i called a cab to take me to my bus that left at 1030, of course there is an accident with the road shut down and a parade with a bunch of firefighters. so my 10 min drive became 27minutes and i get there just in time. everyone has told me to get to the bus early so i can put my stuff in the very back so it is less likely to get stollen, so great its probably going to be stolen except for the fact it weight 5000 pounds. 3 hours on the directo bus that stopped a few times for who knows what since it was in spanish and i got to san isidro where i was told to find a cab but there was some guy standing there with my name on a piece of paper...this school does everything for you. he tells me something in spanish and all i get is that there is a problem with the roads....i can stay in san isidro for the night or drive to where there is a mud slide, walk across and get another cab....that is exactly what i do, whats a little mud on my bag?. we pass the mile of cars stopped because of the mud slide and drive to the front, some guy walks up to the car i am in picks my bag up and carries it across the mud slide that is just now almost cleared and the big trucks driving across it are sliding all over. it was definetley ¨a little mud¨, it was up to my ankles, i was slidding trying to stay standing and not be hit by the sliding trucks crossing one at a time. so here i am in dominical, my very clean clothes are now muddy...but it is not raining here, it is very underwater which is not normal. and i dont really know how much spanish i have learned that is anygood outside the classroom, or anyconversation with a teacher....maybe i should stay longer
adelante, atras, alto!!
those are the 3 words i learned while white water rafting yesterday, i told the guide spanish only since everyone else spoke spanish...so here it goes all the safety instructinos in spanish, hope i did not miss anything. i got forward, backwards and stop and sit on the floor. but when it came to left side backwards and right side forwards the guide just laughed at me. its hards to think, translate and do while i am trying to stay on the boat. unlike guides in the states, we did not have to carry the boats or do anything. halfway thru we stopped, flipped a boat over and the guide made us tacos, or what i call burritos. it was a lot of fun.
goodby turrialba...
the last of my days of turrialba were wet until the last day that was beautiful.
i got a 20 dollar massage that was to say the least not the best i have had, but it was only 20dollars and my momma tica thinks that was expensive so now i probably am the spoiled american.
i spent another day in the hospital with the doctors and nurses. there is a room for sick pt to get ivs and if they dont get better then they get a bed that looks ancient, and btw grossmont all bedrails were down. nurses get paid 1000 dollars per month and work 6 8hour shifts a week, i am pretty sure that is around $5 per hour, but to rent a house is 200 a month.
i walked across the nun bridge that goes from the town to the nunnery, if that is what it is called.
i got a 20 dollar massage that was to say the least not the best i have had, but it was only 20dollars and my momma tica thinks that was expensive so now i probably am the spoiled american.
i spent another day in the hospital with the doctors and nurses. there is a room for sick pt to get ivs and if they dont get better then they get a bed that looks ancient, and btw grossmont all bedrails were down. nurses get paid 1000 dollars per month and work 6 8hour shifts a week, i am pretty sure that is around $5 per hour, but to rent a house is 200 a month.
i walked across the nun bridge that goes from the town to the nunnery, if that is what it is called.
Subscribe to:
Comments (Atom)